Parks & Recreation Commission

Park Commission


  • First Thursday of each month
  • 6:00 p.m. in the Conference Room at The Lodge Des Peres
  • To view Agendas and Minutes, please click here


The Parks and Recreation Commission was established in March of 1973 as the first step in development of the strong parks and recreation system which the City now enjoys.

The Parks and Recreation Commission provides the citizen perspective to the professional staff in all matters relating to the operation and maintenance of the City Park system and The Lodge Des Peres. The members of the commission were actively involved in the process involving design of the community center and provided input on the design of the various programs being offered by the department. In addition to their advisory role, the Parks and Recreation Commission is empowered to set program and facility use fees within guidelines established by the Board of Aldermen and provide a recommendation on membership fees for The Lodge.

Members are appointed by the Mayor, with approval of the Board of Aldermen, for three year terms with equal representation required by ordinance from among the three wards.
Members Wards Term Expirations 
Duff Hufford Ward One June 30, 2017
Margaret Amend, President Ward One June 30, 2018
Julie Foshage Ward One June 30, 2019
Mary Duggan Ward Two June 30, 2017
Andrew Theising Ward Two June 30, 2018
Robert O'Blennis Ward Two June 30, 2019
Bill Reeves, Vice President Ward Three June 30, 2017
Marie Ganninger Ward Three June 30, 2018
Darlene Corley Ward Three June 30, 2019
Mark Becker, Aldermanic Representative